Next Step Recovery Housing officially opens their new Clarksville facility

[Clarksville, Arkansas] On February 8th, 2023 Next Step Recovery Housing celebrated the opening of their new residential facility in Johnson County with a ribbon-cutting ceremony. The new Clarksville facility will increase the availability of recovery & treatment services for Johnson County, serving 30 men in early recovery in addition to Next Step’s existing 10-bed facility.

The project came with the overwhelming support of Johnson County Judge Herman Houston, Clarksville Mayor David Rieder, and the Clarksville community. “The City of Clarksville is honored to have Next Step Recovery Housing in our community,” says Mayor Rieder. “They are saving lives and creating second chances, making this community and world a better place.”

The funding for the recovery house comes from the Arkansas Opioid Recovery Partnership (ARORP), an organization created by the Arkansas Municipal League (AML) and the Arkansas Association of Counties (AAC) that disburses opioid settlement funding throughout Arkansas’s cities and counties. At Next Step’s ribbon cutting ceremony, AML Director Mark Hayes, ARORP Director Kirk Lane, and ARORP Deputy Director Tenesha Barnes presented the Next Step team with a check for $395,400.

“This partnership represents wrongs made right, a significant step to abate the loss families and individuals have experienced due to opioid misuse and addiction,” says ARORP Director Kirk Lane. “The Clarksville project will be the first recovery housing to be funded by opioid settlement dollars. We’re looking forward to funding more throughout cities and counties in Arkansas.”

“Next Step’s mission is to provide stable housing while educating on substance use avoidance and awareness, within a family style environment, led by a Peer Support Specialist,” says Next Step Recovery Housing Director Chelsea McGill. “Education is critical to our program for intergenerational substance use prevention.”

For more information about Next Step Recovery Housing and availability, visit or call (501) 777-1881.

Municipal League
AAC Logo
Office of the State Drug Director